DistrictCampus
CAMPUS

Dyslexia Program

 

What is Dyslexia?

Dyslexia is a language-based learning disability. As with other learning disabilities, dyslexia is a lifelong challenge that people are born with. This language processing disorder can hinder reading, writing, spelling and sometimes even speaking. Dyslexia is not a sign of poor intelligence or laziness. It is also not the result of impaired vision. Children and adults with dyslexia simply have a neurological disorder that causes their brains to process and interpret information differently.

Dyslexia occurs among people of all economic and ethnic backgrounds. Often more than one member of a family has dyslexia. According to the National Institute of Child and Human Development, as many as 15 percent of Americans have major troubles with reading.

Much of what happens in a classroom is based on reading and writing. So it's important to identify dyslexia as early as possible. Using alternate learning methods, people with dyslexia can achieve success. (National Center for Learning Disabilities, 2013)

For more information, please visit the National Center for Learning Disabilities.

Who to Contact:

District Office: Jill Guerin (jillg@ccisd.com) or Jill Ranes (jillr@ccisd.com) – 254-547-1227

Copperas Cove High School

Marinda Walker Marinda Walker (walkerm@ccisd.com)

Crossroad High School and Mae Stevens Early Learning Academy

Laura Montes Laura Montes (montesl@ccisd.com)

Copperas Cove Junior High School

Sable Stephens-Wilson Sable Stephens-Wilson (sable@ccisd.com)

S.C. Lee Junior High School

Mary Ann Davis (maryam@ccisd.com)

Fairview/Miss Jewell Elementary

Adrianne Waters (adrianne@ccisd.com)

Hettie Halstead Elementary

Leann Kasper Leann Kasper (leannk@ccisd.com)

C.R. Clements/Hollie Parsons Elementary

Carol Rowland Carol Rowland (rowlandc@ccisd.com )

Mae Stevens Early Learning Academy

Laura Montes (montesl@ccisd.com)

Martin Walker Elementary

Tricia Michalk Tricia Michalk (tricia@ccisd.com)

J.L. Williams/Lovett Ledger Elementary

Ruth Bryan Ruth Bryan (bryanr@ccisd.com)

House Creek Elementary

DeeAnn McCormick DeeAnn McCormick (deann@ccisd.com)

Loretta Stone Loretta Stone (loretta@ccisd.com)

Contact Information

Copperas Cove Independent School District
703 W AVE D
COPPERAS COVE, Texas 76522
Map
Map  
Phone: 254-547-1227