Skip to main content

CCISD board members recognized in January

Posted Date: 01/08/2018

Thumbnail Image for Article 17222

CCISD board members recognized in January  

COPPERAS COVE, TX (Jan. 3, 2018)—Joan Manning says she cares about our children in Copperas Cove.  But, it’s more than talk for Manning. 2018 marks the twenty-third year that Manning has served on the CCISD Board of Trustees. Manning was elected to the board in 1995 and currently serves as the board’s president.

January is national School Board Recognition Month and is a time to recognize Manning and the six additional board members who are dedicated and willing to serve as advocates for our children in CCISD schools, said Superintendent Dr. Joe Burns.

“Even though we are making a special effort in January to show appreciation to our board members, we realize their many contributions reflect a year-round commitment. They generously give of themselves to ensure that decisions directly affecting our local schools are made by representatives of this community, people who are close to our schools and know our teachers, parents, and students,” Burns said. “As elected officials, they are the voice of their communities, serving first and foremost in the best interest of our schoolchildren.”

Serving as a crucial link between the community and classroom, the board is responsible for an annual budget of $72 million, 8,134 students, 1,243 employees, and 11 campuses.

Also serving with Manning is board vice president Inez Faison who was appointed to the board in 2007 to fill an unexpired term and then was elected in May 2009. The former ROTC instructor heads up the city’s Housing Authority. 

Dr. Karen Harrison was elected to the Board in May 2011 and currently serves as the board secretary. Harrison is a native of Copperas Cove and graduated from Copperas Cove High School in 1988. Harrison serves on the Copperas Cove Education Foundation Board of Directors.

Board Member Bob Weiss was elected to the board in 2003. In June of 2017, he was selected to fill an unexpired term through November, 2019. A former teacher and principal, Weiss retired after 36 years in education. 

Board Member Jim Copeland was elected to the Board in 1999. After serving in the United States Air Force for 28 years, he taught junior high school and high school for 12 years and retired as an assistant principal at Copperas Cove Junior High School.

Mike Wilburn was elected to the Board in 2007. He began his teaching career with CCISD as an elementary physical education teacher as well as a principal for several CCISD schools at the elementary, junior high and high school level. He finished his career by serving as Executive Director of Secondary Education and Technology until retiring from CCISD in July 2006.

Harry L. Byrd was elected in November 2015. He is a Professor of Automotive at Central Texas College and owner of BMAS-S Automotive Repair Services. Mr. Byrd also serves as an elder of the gospel at United Faith Church in Copperas Cove.

CCISD schools will pay tribute to board members throughout the month of January with special presentations at the monthly board meeting on January 23 and recognition events on their campuses.

Contact Information

Copperas Cove Independent School District
408 S. Main Street
COPPERAS COVE, Texas 76522
Phone: 254-547-1227