Skip to main content

Cove ISD selects school VFW Teachers of the Year 

Posted Date: 11/29/2019

COPPERAS COVE, TX (November 20, 2019)—Copperas Cove ISD teachers were selected and nominated by their respective schools for VFW Post #8577 Teacher of the Year honors. The judges will select one teacher in grades K-5, 6-8 and 9-12 whose nominations will then be forwarded to the district level. The nominees are selected based on their commitment to promote civic responsibility, teach flag etiquette and instill patriotism in their students.

Copperas Cove High School J-R-O-T-C Instructor Enrique Herrera was nominated Principal Jimmy Shuck.

“Chief Herrera’s ability to instill citizenship, patriotism, and discipline in students is unmatched,” Shuck said. “Students continue to be impacted by their leadership development beyond their high school years which is proven by the high numbers that have gone on to serve our country.”

Copperas Cove Junior High Interim Principal Robert Turner nominated seventh grade history teacher Michael Morales.

“Mr. Morales’ passion for our nation’s history shines in his lessons,” Turner said. “He strives to connect history to students’ current lives through relevant activities and lessons.”

First year S. C. Lee social studies teacher Christopher Perez was nominated by Principal Brian Jost.

“Mr. Perez teaches leadership skills to students,” Jost said. “The topics are student led and driven with student focus on cause and effect as well as being problem-solution oriented.”   

Clements/Parsons Elementary Principal Katherine Baney nominated teacher and Army veteran Heather Gutierrez.

“She teaches a sense of community by having her students go around the room and share their personal experiences with the military and soldiers in their family,” Baney said. “There is a huge transformation by the end of the first six weeks when her students stand and say the pledges with pride and respect.” 

Hettie Halstead Elementary’s nomination is school counselor CaRhonda Parham. Principal Billie Diaz said Parham teaches students to be productive, responsible, caring, and contributing members of society.

“She teaches the students on our campus to serve our school community by serving one another with kindness, compassion, and tolerance for those that may think or believe differently than we do,” Diaz said.

Fairvew/Miss Jewell Elementary Principal Rebekah Shuck nominated third grade teacher Teresa Gorres.

“Mrs. Gorres voluntarily offered to start a Junior Historians Chapter for our campus,” Shuck said. “Students in this organization learn the importance of key historical figures in our community and our world.”

House Creek Elementary fifth grade teacher Amanda Rolfe was selected by Principal Todd Williams.

“Mrs. Rolfe provides our students with enrichment opportunities to compete with other schools in the field of science through Science Olympiad,” Williams said. “These opportunities encourage students to pursue college in the areas of computer science, engineering and chemistry.”

Patricia Crawford is the nominee from Mae Stevens Early Learning Academy from Principal Mary Derrick.

“Mrs. Crawford is an enthusiastic teacher who thinks outside the box when it comes to teaching 4-year olds about Americanism, citizenship and patriotism. She teaches through art, song, literature, and video,” Derrick said.

Martin Walker Elementary Principal Earl Parcell nominated fifth grade teacher and Army veteran Catherine Sharbeno.

“Mrs. Sharbeno teaches students respect, courtesy, social studies and mathematics and epitomizes democratic values,” Parcell said. “She helped design our student-led Veterans Day assembly.”

Williams/Ledger Elementary Principal Marla Sullivan nominated teacher fifth grade science and math teacher Josh Salinas who is former active duty military and still serves in the Army Reserves.   

“Josh teaches citizenship-related skills every day by modeling cooperation, strength and self-improvement for his students. Likewise, he expects these same skills to be demonstrated by his students in their daily interactions with their peers and adults at school,” Sullivan said.

CCISD students in grades 6-8 have entered the VFW Patriot’s Pen contest which requires them to write a 300-400 word essay reflecting on American history and how they view today’s society. 

Cove High School students have entered this year’s Voice of Democracy contest. Established in 1947, the VOD requires students to record a 3-5 minute speech on a designated topic. 

Winners of both the Voice of Democracy and Patriots’ Pen contests will be announced along with the VFW Teachers of the Year at a ceremony at VFW Post #8577 in December or January.


Contact Information

Copperas Cove Independent School District
408 S. Main Street
COPPERAS COVE, Texas 76522
Phone: 254-547-1227