Board of Trustees

Copperas Cove ISD Board of Trustees

Copperas Cove ISD Board of Trustees

Front Row: Heather Copeland, Inez Faison, Joan Manning, Shameria Ann Davis. Back Row: Jeff Gorres, Mike Wilburn, John Gallen, Dr. Joe Burns.

The Board of Trustees derives its legal status from the Texas Constitution and the state legislature. Among its many duties, the Board of Trustees oversees the management of the public schools in Copperas Cove; levees and collects taxes and issues bonds; adopts the district's annual budget; has the district's fiscal accounts audited each year by a Texas certified or public accountant; adopts rules and bylaws; adopts policy to establish a district and campus level planning and decision-making process; and many other functions.

The Board of Trustees legislates and establishes general policies for the district but does not manage the day-to-day operations of the district.


Regular board meetings are normally held on the second Tuesday of each month in the CCISD Service and Training Center Boardroom. Special meetings are held as necessary. All meetings are open to the public. Agendas for all meetings are posted at the entrance to the CCISD Service and Training Center at 408 S. Main St. at least 72 hours in advance of all meetings and are announced through local media. The public is invited to attend.

Public Participation at a Board Meeting

The Copperas Cove Independent School District does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, gender, national origin, disability, or any other basis prohibited by law in its programs, activities, or employment practices.   For inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies, contact:  Director of Human Resources or Director of Student Services at (254) 547-1227, 408 S. Main St., Copperas Cove, TX 76522.